Email:
RSS:

FRAUD: RonPaul2008Fund.com

Posted by Brian Bailey on February 4, 2008

*Update #4: As a direct result of this article and my email to the campaign the campaign’s legal counsel has had the offending website shut down.

Thank you to everyone for your help!

Please spread this far and wide amongst Ron Paul supporters!

The comment below was left on an article here at The Paulunteer. The link leads to a replica of the official website but has a donation link that DOES NOT go to the official campaign.

I am forwarding this information to the official campaign but it couldn’t hurt for a few other people to do the same. It’s a busy day and one email might get overlooked.

We need to try to get this site shut down or at the very least have warnings sent out to as many people as possible.

Carl Bethel Said:
We need to keep pushing hard, it all comes down to getting the word out, more radio, tv, billboards, brochures, messages…

Ron Paul is in it for the long run, we need to support him and support him with everything we can.

Give till it hurts, donate today:
http://www.ronpaul2008fund.com

If we don’t do something now, we’ll all pay for it later, put the ONLY TRUE REPUBLICAN into office.

*Update 1: The following information was retrieved by a supporter at Ron Paul Forums:

WHOIS information for: ronpaul2008fund.com:

[whois.godaddy.com]
The data contained in GoDaddy.com, Inc.’s WhoIs database,
while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided “as is”
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
Any use of this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without the prior written
permission of GoDaddy.com, Inc. By submitting an inquiry,
you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty. In particular,
you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or otherwise make possible,
dissemination or collection of this data, in part or in its entirety, for any
purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
and solicitations of any kind, including spam. You further agree
not to use this data to enable high volume, automated or robotic electronic
processes designed to collect or compile this data for any purpose,
including mining this data for your own personal or commercial purposes.

Please note: the registrant of the domain name is specified
in the “registrant” field. In most cases, GoDaddy.com, Inc.
is not the registrant of domain names listed in this database.

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: RONPAUL2008FUND.COM

Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.ZONEEDIT.COM
NS4.ZONEEDIT.COM

Contact godaddy.com and report as possibly fraudulent.

*Update #2: Hosting information-

GoDaddy is just the registrar, so not sure complaining to them will help.

Looks like the site is hosted by BestWeb corporation:

OrgName: BestWeb Corporation
OrgID: BWC
Address: 25 S. Riverside Ave.
City: Croton on Hudson
StateProv: NY
PostalCode: 10520
Country: US

NetRange: 209.94.96.0 - 209.94.127.255
CIDR: 209.94.96.0/19
NetName: BESTWEB-BLK-1
NetHandle: NET-209-94-96-0-1
Parent: NET-209-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.BESTWEB.NET
NameServer: NS2.BESTWEB.NET
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 1997-07-11
Updated: 2001-05-02

RTechHandle: SD333-ARIN
RTechName: Department, Systems
RTechPhone: +1-914-271-4500
RTechEmail: systems@bestweb.net

OrgTechHandle: SD333-ARIN
OrgTechName: Department, Systems
OrgTechPhone: +1-914-271-4500
OrgTechEmail: systems@bestweb.net

Let Google Checkout know: http://checkout.google.com/support/b…type=mediation

*Update #3: The website RonPaul2008Fund.com will only load if you use www.RonPaul2008Fund.com and not RonPaul2008Fund.com. The site is still up.

  • bodytext
  • del.icio.us
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • Fark
  • NewsVine
  • Technorati
  • Slashdot
  • SphereIt

3 Responses to “FRAUD: RonPaul2008Fund.com”

  1. I have reported this to Google Checkout. I suggest you do the same to get their attention.

    The google checkout webpage for this fraudulent transaction is at: https://checkout.google.com/view/buy?o=shoppingcart&shoppingcart=923293954024414

    It is apparently being paid to: RP08, 837 W. Plantation Dr., Clute, TX 77531 US

    *Edit by Brian: That address is the official campaign HQ. The thief copied everything including the address.

  2. website is down.

  3. that address is HQ

Leave a Reply

Polls

Do you like the new website design?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Users Online

Incoming Traffic